Skip to content

January 17, 2013

Here we are half way through January already. One good thing I noticed the days are drawing out and we get an extra half an hour daylight since the shortest day. Makes me think it is almost spring although the forecast is for heavy snow tonight which will bring me back to winter with a jolt. I could not resist buying a couple of rose plants and some vegetable seeds at the weekend.

Quite pleased that the rain has stopped for a few days and the river level has gone down several feet. The land is still waterlogged though and will be for I while no doubt.

The parking situation in Musgrove road has not been produced much to write about but the local policeman has been around most days and put several tickets on cars. I noticed two cars without valid tax discs on them. I thought you could not get away with that these days!!

I find there are not enough hours in a day, even though I am retired, to get everything I want done so the blog will be once a week iin future, well will try anyway.

I wrote an article for the local paper yesterday, of course it might not get published so I have copied it below just for the record.

THE WAY I SEE IT

In this time of cutbacks and restrictions on spending it gives us time to reflect on what could be done that would put Taunton on the map as it were without spending a lot of money A recent trip to Cardiff set me thinking. Cardiff planners set out some time ago to make the town pedestrian friendly and made the bold move to pedestrianize the whole of the town centre. This happened and turned out to be a spectacular success. Shoppers come from far and wide to enjoy the shopping experience. No traffic, wide street to walk along, cafés and shops spread out onto the road with street venders and performing artists getting in on the act.

I believe Taunton could follow this example; we have good roads to the north and south and with the new bridge and other road plans soon to be implemented there are no logical reason for traffic to come through the town centre. From the market building to Debenhams and all of East Street could be closed to traffic as well as James Street to the swimming pool. Just think of it being able to wander around the shops without dodging the traffic. Sit outside the cafes without traffic fumes and congestion. All this achieved without any significant outlay. All that is required is some bold and forward seeing individuals to get together to make it happen. Do these people exist?

 I wonder!!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

